Movie Review: Transformers: Age of Extinction

Standard

I watched Transformers in 2007 and I didn’t like it. Then I started watching Transformers: Dark of the Moon in an English class and I fell asleep. And I didn’t even bother trying to see Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen. So, you might be wondering, why did I go watch Transformers: Age of Extinction in the movies?

Well, there were three reasons. First, I’d read somewhere that this movie wasn’t as bad as the others (boy were they wrong…). Second, it has Nicola Peltz in it and I’m sort of obsessed with Nicola Peltz. Third, my best friend really wanted to see it, so I went with her, cause she always let me pick the movies we see.

If you still haven’t watched Transformes: Age of Extinction, let me give you a tip: DON’T GO. Seriously. And I’m not just saying that cause it’s not my type of movie. My best friend loves nothing more than action movies and this kind of stuff and she didn’t like it. My brother hated it as well. It’s just a bad movie, that’s all.

The action sequences make no sense and there are way too many of them for a single movie. And then the story is crappy and there are a lot of plot holes. (For example: how the hell was her boyfriend there to save them? That made NO sense) And the movie is way too long. There are many moments were you think “Ok, it’s gonna end now” and then it just keeps going. It feels like they made two different movies (aka a movie and a sequel) but put them together into a single movie. Also, the movie suddenly moves from the US to China without even explaining why. It’s bizarre.

And then, to make things worse, there’s the whole father/daughter drama. I mean, this whole plotline is meant for people like me, who don’t really like the action sequences to enjoy the movie. IT DID NOT WORK. The thing is, the whole idea is way too common for it to be any fun and the dialogs sucked. Plus, they had this weird father/daughter fights IN THE MIDDLE OF BATTLE. It was pretty ridiculous.

There was only one thing I liked about Transformers: Age of Extinction and that was the casting. I think this cast did a better job than the one from the previous movies, specially Mark Wahlberg, Nicola Peltz and Jack Reynor. Stanley Tucci was also an amazing choice. Plus, there’s Jack Reynor and he’s like… well, he’s dreamy.

So, should you watch Transfomers: Age of Extinction? No. Don’t waste two and a half hours of your life with it. Totally not worth it.

Leave a comment